All Counties Craft Challenge

We are absolutely delighted to announce that John Bloodworth will be teaching a mixed media workshop on Saturday, 11 March 2017 at Handmade at Helen’s as part of his year long All Counties Craft Challenge!

For those of you who have not heard about the challenge, here is an explanation in John’s own words …

Many questions have been asked about the All Counties Craft Challenge so I thought that I would set up this page in way of explanation and to give you an idea of how to get involved.

First let’s take a look at the challenge and why I am doing it.


Who Am I?

Hi, I’m John Bloodworth. I am also known to many as ‘Gentleman Crafter’ as a result of my blog www.gentlemancrafter.wordpress.com

I have been creative since I was a small boy. As well as being an enjoyable pasttime it has also helped me cope with many of life’s little hiccups.

I have also shared this passion for creativity with the United Kingdom during the past decade whilst creating over 10,000 hours of broadcast material for a TV channel dedicated to arts and crafts.

What am I doing?

I am organising a charity fund raising challenge in aid of Mind, a mental health charity based in the UK, which will see me leave the security and certainty of my home behind and spend just over a year visiting each and every one of the ninety-two (historic) counties in the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland + various Islands) whilst living in, teaching workshops in, crafting in and blogging/vlogging from a motorhome.

The idea has already been pitched to Mind and they have accepted me as a volunteer fund raiser.

Why am I doing it?

It is fair to say that my own life has been turned upside down by mental health issues in recent years, with severe depression and general anxiety disorder making day-to-day life a genuine struggle, but Mind were there for me and have been an outstanding resource and support mechanism through it all.

Through my work and my blog I have also heard many similar stories from individuals around the world.

I am therefore doing this challenge in order to give something back and to help Mind help others who have been affected by similar issues.

As an added bonus I would also hope to be able to share the calming, focusing and ultimately beneficial properties of a creative hobby along the way.

Spaces are filling up fast, so if you are interested in joining us, please follow this link which will take you directly to John’s booking page:

https://gentlemancrafter.com/2017/01/19/all-counties-craft-challenge-workshop-dumfries-11th-march/

